top of page

Wound Badge


Wound Badge was a military decoration awarded to wounded or frostbitten soldiers of the Wehrmacht, SS and the auxiliary service organizations during the Second World War. After March 1943, due to the increasing number of Allied bombings, it was also awarded to wounded civilians in air raids. The badge had three classes:

  • Black (3rd class, representing Iron), for those wounded once or twice by hostile action (including air raids)

  • Silver (2nd class) for being wounded three or four times

  • Gold (1st class, which could be awarded posthumously) for five or more times wounded

The "progression" could be waived in the event of lost of a limb or eyesight. When such a severe wound occurred, the silver badge was awarded.

Krause's Easterm Front Medal collection includes:

  1. Award Certificate that can be personalized with the name of the recipient of your choice (and more)

  2. Medal presentation envelope faithfully reproduced for various makers of the medal

These products cover wide range of variants related to manufacturers. They would make a great addition to your collection, display, or a present! 

bottom of page