Infantry and General Assault Badges

Infanterie und Allgemaines Sturmabzeichen

The Infantry Assault Badge (German: Infanterie-Sturmabzeichen) was awarded to Waffen SS and Wehrmacht Heer soldiers. It was instituted on 20 December 1939 by the Commander-in-Chief of the German Army, Generalfeldmarschall Walther von Brauchitsch. It could be awarded to members of Infantry units and units of the Gebirgsjäger that had participated in assaults on at least three days of battle in the front line on, or after 1 January 1940. When a counter offensive led to fighting, it could also apply. It was awarded in two versions:

  • Silver -  for foot infantry